National Championship: Groups and Fixtures

National Championship: Groups and Fixtures

The groups and schedule of the much-awaited Reliance Foundation Youth Sports Football National Championship 2017 were announced earlier in the day. Matches will be played at two venues, RCP Ghansoli, and Fr. Agnel, Vashi, as the grand spectacle starts on December 28.

All the eight City Champions across the four categories have been pitted into two different groups where the top two teams from each group would be qualifying for the National Championship Final.

Two games will simultaneous kick-off the RFYS National Championship on December 28, 9 AM.  Senior Boys Champions, Minerva Public School, Chandigarh, take on Rosary Higher Secondary School, Goa, at RCP Ghansoli while Govt. HSS Panampilly Nagar will face Sihphir Higher Secondary School, Aizawl, at Fr. Agnel’s, Vashi. The above four teams form the Group A of the Senior Boys category. St. Anthony Higher Secondary School, Shillong, Al-Ameen Pre-University College, Bengaluru, Kapasdanga Vidyapeeth, Kolkata, and Thakur College, Mumbai, are the four power-packed teams of Group B.

Group A of the Junior Boys category contains Minerva Public School, Chandigarh, Our Lady Of Rosary, Goa, Om Roy Memorial, Shillong and MSPHSS Malappuram, Kozhikode. Minerva Public School will take on Om Roy Memorial in the opening game of Group A on December 29 at 9 AM. A fiery Group B of the Junior Boys category has the likes of Don Bosco High School, Mumbai, Army Public School, Bengaluru, The Unique Model High School, Imphal and Gangadharpur Vidyamandir, Kolkata. The four schools have collectively scored a massive 171 goals. The first game of Group B will be played between Don Bosco High School and The Unique Model Academy.

The opening games in the College Boys category will be played at 11 AM on December 28 where teams from Group A will kickstart proceedings. Shree M. P. Shah College, Ahmedabad will take on Zakir Hussain College, Delhi while Baselius College will kick off simultaneously against Mayai Lambi, Imphal. Opening games of Group B which contains City Champions of Goa, Kolkata, Chandigarh and Shillong will start at 3 PM on the same day.  Fr. Agnel, Goa, will square up against St. Joseph's College of Commerce, Bengaluru, and Netaji Nagar Day College, Kolkata will play the free-scoring boys from St. Anthony College, Shillong.

The School Girl category matches will start on December 29 for both the groups. Umthili Secondary School, Shillong, Rosary Higher Secondary School, Goa, Kadathanad Rajas, Kozhikode and Govt. Model Senior Secondary School, Chandigarh. Umthili Secondary School will raise the curtains in this category against Kadathanad Rajas at 12:30 PM. Rosary Higher Secondary School, Goa will play Govt. Model Senior Secondary School at the same time.

Stay updated about the RFYS National Championship by visiting us on and follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for exclusive coverage.

Click here for the full list of fixtures.